Foxy G's Den of i-KNIT-quity

04/23/2009

Art from the ♥

Filed under: Art From the Heart — foxygknits @ 12:40 am
Tags: , , , ,

Company Name:  dashbyart

Contact:  Doug Dashby

Etsy Website:  www.dashbyart.etsy.com

Website: www.dashbyart.com

Blog: http://dashbyart.blogspot.com/

E-Mail: doug@dashbyart.com

My name is Doug Ashby, and I am an artist and teacher. There are so many reasons and factors as to why I became an artist. From the earliest periods of my life, I have vivid memories of drawing. After trying many other art forms, I returned to drawing.  It is the foundation of my artistic experience and the outlet for much of my creativity.

It is often in reflection, after a piece is done, that I realize fully what it is that I am trying to accomplish. Like many that came before me, I am trying to make sense of this world and this life. Through my work, I have learned much. I know that the artistic process is infinite, and I am happy to be blessed with a life that allows me to be a part of that process. 

Although I have been creating art for most of my life, it was only in August 2008 that I felt I was ready to show it to the world and opened Dashbyart on etsy. The work I do is mostly stipple illustrations of flowers, but I also do paintings, ceramic work and prints.  Stipple illustration is similar to pointillism, whereby I use dots to create shading and tone.  I use archival Micron pens and either acid free heavy cream card stock or vellum.   

 

ACEO Sea Shell Prints
ACEO Sea Shell Prints

stippledmothermaryprint1This stippled illustration of Mother Mary was done at the request of my wife, who has cystic fibrosis.  She wants prints of this image available with all proceeds from the sales donated to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation to help find a cure.

Cystic fibrosis is an inherited chronic disease that affects the lungs and digestive system of about 30,000 children and adults in the United States (70,000 worldwide). Over time, lung transplants are sometimes required. My wife had a double lung transplant ten years ago. Unfortunately, three years ago, she went into rejection. Currently, she is seeking a second transplant at the Cleveland Clinic. The original of this print was made for her to take along with her.

Thirty percent of all Dashbyart sales are donated to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.  Since 1955, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation has been the driving force behind the pursuit of a cure.

 

 

 

2 Comments »

  1. Doug, I will be thinking of you and your wife! I hope she gets her new lung transplant soon. I think its great that you donate money from your shop to the cystic fibrosis foundation.

    Lois, thanks for highlighting Doug’s work and his cause!

    Comment by Celeste — 04/23/2009 @ 8:14 am

  2. Hi
    Great your cause. I will love you to feature my art on your blog. Arthur

    Comment by Arthur Simo — 04/23/2009 @ 6:19 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

