Foxy G's Den of i-KNIT-quity

09/02/2009

Art from the ♥

Filed under: Art From the Heart — foxygknits @ 11:58 pm
Tags: , , , ,
Artist: Kat Rogers

I met Meaghan, cancer survivor and creator of Spirit Jump, online when she first began her quest to help lift the spirits of cancer patients.  She told me about going through her own treatment – how down she would get after visiting doctors or waking up in the morning feeling depressed, but how special it was to her if she’d come home from a doctor’s visit and have a card or little gift waiting for her.  It really lifted her spirits. As a cancer survivor, she wants to help others get through their battle by lifting their spirits.  

Be Here Now Bracelet

Be Here Now Bracelet

Her story really got me thinking about how neat it would be to see love pouring into your mailbox from people you didn’t know – people just wanting to give you some hope, some light. I wanted to be one of those people and thus became a “jumper!”  I have had the same experience as many others involved with this organization.  Both the person giving a gift (jumper) and the person on the receiving end (jumpee), are  lifted spiritually.

Amazonite Charm

Amazonite Charm

Kat explained how Spirit Jump works: The organization e-mails out a list of people that need “jumps,” or lifts, and you reply and let them know that you want to send something to a particular person(s).  They will then send you the address, and you mail your card or gift directly to the person. It is so easy, and you can participate as much or as little as you like.  Even sending a handmade card is great! 

Jade and Turquoise Necklace

Jade and Turquoise Necklace

Through Self Symmetry, I design and sell necklaces, bracelets, earrings and charms.  I use semi precious gemstones, because gemstones come from the earth and hold healing energy. They heal physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually; rebalancing and realigning energy. Each piece that I make is created with specific elements to inspire health and well-being in its wearer.  They are one-of-a-kind and arrive with tags that describe their purposes and properties.

Chakra Necklace

Chakra Necklace

Self Symmetry is all about balance within Self. I believe that our inner being should be just as nurtured as our outer being, and I am in favor of anything that helps facilitate that.  My intention is to help others realize, and connect to, their inner and outer beauty!

Blog: http://www.selfsymmetry.com/blog-events

Follow on Twitter: http://twitter.com/selfsymmetry

Follow on facebook: http://www.facebook.com/selfsymmetry

Kat’s Yoga Schedule: http://www.selfsymmetry.com /get-balanced/calendar/

5 Comments »

  1. Can’t thank you enough for featuring me. And, if anyone is interested in being a Spirit Jumper, or you need a jump, please visit http://www.spiritjump.org

    Comment by Kat Rogers — 09/03/2009 @ 12:54 am

  2. Katrina is such a warm caring person and gives from her heart. She’s been my yoga instructor for several years and it’s been wonderful seeing her grow as a person.

    Comment by Gail Wine — 09/03/2009 @ 8:58 am

  3. I learned about Kat and Self Symmetry through Spirit Jump. She is incredibly talented (honestly, every piece she makes is stunning) and generous. I love her site & blog. Although I have not met Kat IRL I always get this warm, peaceful energy that makes me smile whenever I see her on twitter, facebook, read her blog, or browse her website. Kat spirit jumped me, and the bracelet she so kindly sent reminds me that I have support and inspires me to hope.

    One very unexpected thing happened as I wore the bracelet made of rose quartz, my anxiety has been dropping dramatically. Although I knew that was a property of rose quartz, I had always been skeptical of gemstones having healing properties. Even before I was diagnosed with cancer I suffered from PTSD, OCD, and general anxiety. My anxiety is lowering to a level where I am finally starting feel that I have control over it, rather than my anxiety controlling me. So, not only are her pieces beautiful, they really are “created with specific elements to inspire health and well-being in its wearer”.

    I was a spirit “jumper” before I became a “jumpee”, so I can tell you that joining Spirit Jump is not something you will regret. It feels good to do something for someone else. As a “jumpee” I can not even begin to truly express the impact that a card and/or gift makes. It is the support and love I am receiving from spirit jumpers that is giving me the strength to continue to fight. As Spirit Jump grows, the need for people to sign up as jumpers grows. So I encourage you to visit http://www.spiritjump.org and join. As you browse Spirit Jump’s website you will also see some more of Kat’s work, however you really need to check her out on Facebook and her website.

    Comment by Jenny — 09/03/2009 @ 9:31 pm

  4. thank you so much for this amazing post! I love Self Symmetry and she is such an amazing supporter of Spirit Jump. I dont think she will ever really know how many lives she has touched using her amazing talent!

    Meaghan

    Comment by meaghan — 09/03/2009 @ 10:28 pm

  5. […] the ♥”.  I am honored to be one of Foxy G Knits featured artist!  You can see my feature here.  Thank you so much, Lois, for the write […]

    Pingback by Self Symmetry » Blog Archive » Give a Little, Get a Lot — 09/10/2009 @ 11:00 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

