Foxy G's Den of i-KNIT-quity

09/24/2009

Art from the ♥

Artist: Teri Stout

By day, I do bookkeeping and accounting.  By nights, weekends and during lunch breaks I craft.  I love to quilt and sew, but I also dabble in crocheting and knitting.  RagamuffinQuilts features handcrafted quilts, blankets, totes, diaper bags, home décor and more. 

Pink and White Floral Cotton Rag Throw Quilt

Pink and White Floral Cotton Rag Throw Quilt

Earlier this year, I was approached by an Operation Showers of Appreciation  (OSOA) founder to see if  I would be willing to donate items for moms and/or babies.  OSOA is “A volunteer based organization that assists active duty and active duty reserve military and their families expecting babies. OSOA honors these families for the many sacrifices they have made in a unique way by providing baby items and hosting large scale baby showers in their honor. Being from a multi-generation military family and growing up as a Navy brat myself, I anxiously accepted the offer. 

Cloth Pouch Red and Beige Multi Print
Cloth Pouch Red and Beige Multi Print

The first thing I did was to recruit my fellow online quilters.  Via my blog, I let them know that I needed their help.  In addition to items for the newborns, I wanted to send along some items for the new moms as well. So, I put out a call for donations of materials necessary to make newborn rag quilts and receiving blankets, along with cotton yarn for handcrafted “spa” items for some much needed “mom pampering.”  I also put out the word to any crocheters or knitters who were willing to help make these items to include in the care packages.

Set of 4 Reversible Cloth Coasters

Set of 4 Reversible Cloth Coasters

In early July, I received my first bundle of charity flannel from a wonderful quilter and friend, Nikki, who also made tissue holders as a little something for the moms. I am working on that project now and hope to have a big shipment ready for their next baby shower which should be good timing for the winter babies that are due.

Pink Green Yellow Frog Quilted Tote Diaper Bag

Pink Green Yellow Frog Quilted Tote Diaper Bag

Editor’s Note: In addition to Operation Showers of Appreciation, Teri is very involved with breast cancer awareness and prevention.  This summer, she donated one of her handmade totes to the American Breast Cancer Foundation auction.  Her eBay quilting group is combining efforts to make a wonderful rag quilt to be auctioned off in early October.  Last year’s auction was in honor of Teri’s late mother, who lost her five-year battle with Stage 4 breast cancer in October 2004.

Twitter: http://twitter.com/Ragamuffinquilt

Photo album: http://www.picasaweb.google.com/RagamuffinQuilts70

3 Comments »

  1. Thank you so much for the wonderful feature! I am so pleased to be able to help others. You just never know when you may be on the receiving end yourself.

    Comment by RagamuffinQuilts — 09/24/2009 @ 2:42 pm

  2. what a great feature! Ragamuffin is such a great artist & giving woman, as you highlighted so well! love those coasters!

    Comment by Fabrics N Quilts — 09/24/2009 @ 2:52 pm

  3. What a wonderful idea! Thank you for participating in making someone’s day so special!

    Comment by Debby Carter — 09/26/2009 @ 1:56 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

