Foxy G's Den of i-KNIT-quity

01/14/2010

Do You Have a Personal/Professional Mission Statement?

Filed under: Life in General — foxygknits @ 12:34 am
Tags: ,

One morning back in 1987, I awoke from a sound sleep around 1 a.m. and bolted upright with an uninvited epiphany.  At that moment, I knew that my personal life mission was to improve the quality of life for myself and those around me.  To say the least, I was mystified, dumbfounded and confused.  I pondered my experience and then found myself dealing with a great deal of sadness because I had to give up the illusion or fantasy that I was going to be rich and famous.  Yes, that fantasy!  As I became comfortable with my new reality, I began to embrace it.  I began giving those “quality of life” gestures value, not discounting them as “no big deal.” 

I have always loved to buy little “love you” presents for my family and friends and wrap them in beautiful paper and ribbons.  And I have always loved to find the perfect greeting card for that special occasion and send it. Through a former job, I had to learn Publisher which then opened the door for me to make personal greeting cards and the occasional flyer for a friend.

As my interests grew, so did my opportunities to continue fulfilling my personal mission.  I say continue because I think a mission is more a way of life than an achieved goal. Several years ago, I got interested in genealogy and began working on our family tree.  That required developing some new computer and research skills.  Soon, I found myself helping friends begin to put together their family trees.  This opportunity was amazingly special for me because it was assisting them in connecting to their past to then be able to pass on this information to future generations.  It was something from the heart, not another present from the mall fairy!

For years, I knit scarves, shawls, wraps, even baby blankets and dish cloths for friends.  As an aside, that is how I ended up opening my shop on etsy.  My sister convinced me that I should be selling my hand knit originals.  When I was setting up Foxy G. Knits, my tag line popped out one day: hand knit with love – from my heart to yours. 

So, 20+ years after that uninvited epiphany visited me, my personal and professional missions have remained the same: to improve the quality of life for myself and those around me with love from my heart to yours.

Do you have a personal mission statement?  A professional mission statement?  Please comment below, and you might be featured in an upcoming blog post.

3 Comments »

  1. Great post! I have spent a lot of time on my blog this past year just trying incorporate my mission statement into building my blog community. My perfossional missions is to build a online artist comminity where we can be inspired, share, and grow as artists together. I work towards that everyday, and hope one day that it will be a place where artists come together daily.

    Comment by Valerie — 01/14/2010 @ 4:40 pm

  2. My professional and personal mission statements overlap.

    My personal mission statement is to do all I can to support Epilepsy Awareness and to help others with Epilepsy as much as possible. I have even opened an Epilepsy Group page on Facebook.

    My professional mission statement is to promote Epilepsy Awareness through my Awareness Jewelry and my shop. I want to have Awareness recognized on Etsy.

    Comment by Cheryl — 01/15/2010 @ 10:33 pm

  3. I like your mission statement! I guess mine would be “attitude is a choice made daily”. I keep that one in front of me at all times to remind me that whatever is going on won’t matter in 100 years so why not have a great attitude about it?

    Comment by Jill — 01/31/2010 @ 9:54 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

