Foxy G's Den of i-KNIT-quity

03/04/2010

Art from the ♥

Filed under: Art From the Heart — foxygknits @ 12:02 am
Tags: , , ,

ARTIST: ROBIN NORGREN – IN HER OWN WORDS…

Have you ever just had a place that you know in your heart that you must visit before you die?  That place for me is India.  I have no relatives there nor do I know of anyone who lives there, but when anything comes along about aid to India, my heart strings tug.  So for years, I thought that I would do a humanitarian trip there, but finances have always been an issue.  Then, when I became certified as a yoga instructor, I thought that might be the vehicle to get me there. 

Wrist Cuff

Wrist Cuff - Dream

I have also wanted to support an organization that helped in India, and in 2006, I learned about CARE on an Oprah segment. As one of the world’s leading international humanitarian organizations, CARE places special focus on working alongside poor women because, equipped with the proper resources, women have the power to help whole families and entire communities escape poverty.

Wrist Cuff - Friendship

Wrist Cuff - Friendship

Fast forward four years to 2010 when I decided to connect to India in a way that is unique and in line with my current life as a stay-at-home mom and artist.  Through my etsy shop, Well of Creations, I am donating all the proceeds (after PayPal and etsy fees) from the items in the Wrist Cuffs for India Section to Power Within, CARE’s new signature program.  Their goal is to empower 10 million vulnerable girls, primarily ages 10-14, to access primary education and gain leadership skills by 2015.

Write Cuff - Love

Write Cuff - Love

My hope is that as I give my time and resources through my craft that others will support this worthwhile organization and at the same time receive a beautiful creation to remind them of their generosity. And I finally feel connected.

You can connect with Robin:

Etsy shop: http://wellofcreations.etsy.com

twitter: www.twitter.com/wellofcreations

Facebook: www.facebook.com/wellofcreations.myetsyshop

Blogs: www.wellofcreations.com and www.wellofcreations.blogspot.com

[Editor’s Note: Well of Creations features one-of-a-kind crocheted totes, purses, scarves and wrist cuffs.]

purse crochet

Easter Basket...Little Purse...Skies are Blue...For your little girl...ages 3 to 7

scarf crochet neutral

Scarf...Peace Flows...Like a River...Neutral with a Burst of Color

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you so much Lois for the beautiful piece.

    Comment by wellofcreations — 03/04/2010 @ 12:32 am

  2. What a great post. It’s nice to hear how you’re working towards something you love and helping others.

    Comment by Tammy — 03/04/2010 @ 1:25 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

